Thank you!

One of the wonderful unintended consequences of writing a blog about my experience in the Peace Corps has been the opportunity to connect with people from all across America and beyond. I’ve received comments from current volunteers, future volunteers, and volunteers who served years ago. I’ve exchanged emails with people in Cambodia, Namibia, Germany, and Alaska. I’ve virtually “met” my fellow volunteers’ mothers, fathers, aunts, grandmothers, sisters, boyfriends, and bosses. Over two hundred and fifty of you fools have somewhat inconceivably decided to sign up for email updates when I publish a new post, and nearly two hundred more of you have good-naturedly refrained from defriending me when you see my posts show up on your Facebook newsfeeds.

This has not gone unnoticed. Each of you who has commented on a post, emailed me, “liked” one of my pictures, or told me that your mom loves my blog has contributed to the ego-swelling of one extremely tickled and affirmed volunteer.

And so as my 27 months in the Peace Corps here in Zambia officially come to a close, I’d like to thank each of you for reading. Y’all have helped make my service more enriching, and I’m grateful to have been able to share in this incredible journey.

image

9 thoughts on “Thank you!

    • Matt, I got all chocked up thinking I won’t get your Zambian blog anymore…. This “White Lady”
      loves you and all of those adorable little kids and all of your great stories!! I sure hope you continue blogging in some form as I will really miss your great writing!

  1. Here’s hoping you check in once you return to the States! The transition period is just as interesting (and helpful) as the actual service. 🙂

  2. THANK YOU MATT!! I have I vicariously lived my son’s life over the last year through your eyes. Because, as you might know, Matt Wahonick does not take pictures or write letters. I truly will miss your insight and great sense of humor. Good luck in all you choose to do with your future and thank you for allowing me to share your past with you. Mary Wahonick, Matt’s mom.

Leave a Reply

