10 reasons why life in the Peace Corps is like college

1. My grandmother would wrinkle her nose at me in distaste if she saw how I dressed

Now....and then

Now…………….and then

 

2. I spend all of my time learning about new things and call it work

DSC03857

3. One of the houses nearby blares loud music at all hours of the night

IMG_20140410_100422

4. Everything I eat is either fried, loaded with carbs, or both

chicken

5. The gossip runs rampant when a female friend comes to visit, even after I insist that we’re “just friends.”

DSC03926

6. I do my laundry approximately once a month, and even then only reluctantly

SAMSUNG

7. The two biggest social activities in the neighborhood are hanging out and drinking

8562346050_fbef171b07_o

8. I let my hair grow out because I don’t want to pay for a haircut

2014-02-28 18.31.36

9. People sign up to attend workshops just because of the free food

DSC03261 (1750x1042)

10. All of the bikes are fixies

3 thoughts on “10 reasons why life in the Peace Corps is like college

Leave a Reply

