ZamTwitter, Month 13

Random news from my thirteenth month of Peace Corps service, in 140 characters or less.

May 12 – Packed into a cruiser with 8 other volunteers and 3 staff for the 9-hour ride up to Luapula. Still so much more comfortable than the bus.

May 15 – My cat returned home tonight after being AWOL for the past month. She instantly demanded food. Nice to see some things never change.

Hanging out at the ponds chatting with Sebastian and reading are just a few of my favorite things

Hanging out at the ponds chatting with Sebastian and reading are just a few of my favorite things

May 18 – Bought waffles at the side of the road. They don’t taste like waffles. Even Hobbes won’t touch them unless they’re covered in peanut butter.

May 20 – Our well’s back in action. I made a new icikopo (jug attached to rope for pulling water up) and now everyone else is using it except me.

May 23 – Laundry day. The water that my clothes have been soaking in for the past two days is brown — this is how I gauge if they’re clean.

Little Shatelle has much better style than this muzungu

Little Shatelle has much better style than this muzungu

May 24 – Just chatted with Sebastian about financing, loans, and interest rates. This rural Zambian knows more personal finance than most Americans.

May 26 – Visited new fish farmers, staked a pond, went for a swim, spotted two African spoonbills, scared a big monitor lizard. It’s been a good day.

May 28 – 21st consecutive day of non-solid poops. The really unhealthy part of this is that I no longer consider it to be very unhealthy.

May 30 – I’ve been taking afternoon swims in a fish pond nearly every day. It’s almost like having my own private swimming pool.

My new swimming pool

My new swimming pool until cold season hits

June 2 – I have a very carb-heavy diet here, but tonight still managed to mark a dubious first: I made both pasta AND rice for dinner.

June 5 – Visiting Michael, a volunteer in the next district. His site is gorgeous: rural solitude, extensive integrated polyculture, and a private waterfall.

June 8 – Arrived in Mansa after three days and 250 kilometers of biking. Have a sore knee and a bruised ego (we went REALLY slowly).

Ryeon and I on the last stretch, only 50 kilometers from Mansa

Ryeon and I on the last stretch, only 50 kilometers from Mansa

One thought on “ZamTwitter, Month 13

Leave a Reply

