Peace Corps by the numbers

I was posted to my site in Nshinda exactly one year ago today. What better time to look at some numbers?

452

days I have been in Zambia

Football at twilight

The football pitch at twilight in Petauke District, Eastern Province, February 2013

15

hours it takes me to travel from Lusaka, the capital of Zambia, to my site

Getting posted to site on May 10, 2013

Getting posted to site on May 10, 2013

4,500

liters of water I’ve pulled or pumped from a well or borehole

Some of the boys in my village wearing the same things they always wear

Sometimes I can convince neighbor kids to fetch water for me, like on this day in June 2013

3

non-Peace Corps white people I’ve seen in my district in the past twelve months

Dropping Allison off for her site visit with a welcoming party

We stand out quite a bit in a crowd — dropping Allison off at her site, April 2014

5

times I have emptied my trash bag (a typical-sized plastic grocery bag) in the past year

Lumangwe Falls, Kawambwa, Luapula, June 2013

Fun fact: in Zambia, it’s common practice to throw empty bottles out the window of the car/bus/truck once you’re done with them — there’s not as much litter on the sides of the road as you’d think because many bottles are repurposed as containers, cups, and toys

15,248

kids who stop by my house every day to say hello ask me for money/candy/food/plastic bags

Willie and Chungu hamming it up as we cook

Willie and Chungu hamming it up as we cook in Nshinda, April 2014

137

times I’ve been told I look like a woman

Some of the gorgeous (actual) women of Luapula Province

Some of the gorgeous (actual) women of Luapula Province

463

buns and fritters eaten

Kafutuma, Luapula, August 2013

Lighting an unusual square brazier in Kafutuma, August 2013

133

books read since being posted to site

Why yes, that is an elephant in the background -- on vacation at South Luangwa National Park, September 2013

Reading Lisa See’s Shanghai Girls while on vacation at South Luangwa National Park, September 2013

1,935

kwacha spent on talk time for phone calls, texts, and internet (mostly internet)

Charging my phone

Charging my phone using the rays of the sun, February 2013

28

kilograms of rice eaten

Lubunda, Luapula, July 2013

Cooking rice at Ryeon’s site in Lubunda, July 2013

173

hours spent on public transport

A canter full of Peace Corps volunteers on a game drive in Kasanka National Park

On a game drive in Kasanka National Park, November 2013

27

hours spent on public transport waiting for said transport to start moving

vamp

Waiting for the bus to leave in Mansa, June 2013

2

caterpillars eaten

Petauke, Eastern, February 2013

Caterpillars in the market in Petauke, Eastern Province, February 2013

0

mornings I’ve woken up in Africa and not been happy

Petauke, Eastern Province, February 2013

3 thoughts on “Peace Corps by the numbers

Leave a Reply

