You might be a Peace Corps volunteer if…

If a light drizzle is enough to promptly cancel all of your programs for the afternoon.

DSC03182 (1750x1163)

If you’ve ever done a Google search for: “If an egg floats, is it really bad or just stale but still edible?”

egg floats

If your pet cat eats better than half the kids in your neighborhood.

If you’ve ever gotten off a 12-hour bus ride, sniffed yourself, then thought, I don’t really need to bathe.

wpid-2013-09-19-13.19.16.jpg

If you’ve ever contemplated starting a fire to make lunch and decided instead to just eat spoonfuls of peanut butter directly from the jar.

DSC07920

If you’ve ever done unspeakable things with empty bottles just to avoid using your latrine late at night.

DSC07166

If you haven’t gotten a haircut in half a year because “nobody will see me anyway.”

Lucas beforeafter

If you’ve ever shared a bus seat with a woman holding a live chicken and both of them spent the entire ride glaring at you.

wpid-IMG_20140218_074823.jpg

If you’re convinced that your malaria medication is making you actually clinically unbalanced.

IMG_4052 (1313x1750)

7 thoughts on “You might be a Peace Corps volunteer if…

  1. I love your blog. It’s so much fun to read. 🙂 I leave for my staging tomorrow. I can’t wait to experience the chaos malaria meds will have on my psyche. (Not really.)

    • Thanks so much! Good luck with staging and fly-in! You’re about to start off on an incredible new journey and I’m so excited for you. 🙂

  2. I have really been enjoying your blog. Matt W from your 2nd site visit is my son and your blog really gives me some insight as to what he may be experiencing. You have a wonderful wit about you.

    • Hi Matt’s parent! Thanks so much for reading and commenting. 🙂 I’m flattered and pleased that you like my blog.

      Matt and the other new volunteers just arrived in Mansa last evening! I’m here helping them shop for supplies before they get posted to their new sites next week.

  3. I will immediately grab your rss feed as I can not find your email subscription link or enewsletter service. Do you’ve any? Please let me know in order that I could subscribe. Thanks. dedgfdaekgba

Leave a Reply

