What I’ve been reading

Inspired by my friend and fellow Luapula PCV Caitlyn, who has a page on her blog listing the books she’s read during her service (http://caittate.wordpress.com/) I decided to add a similar feature to Fishing In Zambia.

Reading List

The books I read often influence both how I write and what I think about, so I like to go back through my journal and blog to see if I can notice the effect of a particular novel on that day’s entry or reflections.

I wish I could say I choose my book list carefully with this causal relationship in mind, but I must confess that for every book I deliberately seek out based on critical acclaim or a friend’s recommendation, I read three more that carry no other significance than that they represent easy entertainment.

Hence the reason why you’ll find Ron Jeremy’s autobiography sandwiched between two Jane Austen classics. Gotta keep the literary influences diversified.

2 thoughts on “What I’ve been reading

Leave a Reply

