A different perspective on fear

I was chatting with a fellow who stopped by to buy some books from me this morning and something he said to me in the middle of our conversation stuck. This is paraphrased, because I have a horrible memory, but it was something along the lines of, ‘If you feel scared when you’re about to do something, chances are that this means it will be good for you.’

I rarely feel afraid any more. I live my steady, content, slightly boring life and it’s become almost numbing. Now that there’s something big looming on the horizon that I’m deathly scared of starting, all of these new emotions are flooding in at various times and places. But if it means I’m growing, then maybe the goal isn’t to try to stomp these feelings back down into the ground but embrace them, and let them guide me along new paths.

Leave a Reply

